This and That

I have two new books to show you! I made them for a swap themed “Mini book of proverbs”. I have been obsessed with texture lately, as you can see here. 🙂

V1 155

V1 157

I actually filled them with quotes and poems. 🙂

V1 159

V1 160

V1 161

V1 146

V1 148

V1 151

I added pressed leaves and flowers to this one. The combination of flowers and the colors I used (homemade alcohol inks and acrylic paint) reminds me of fairies and enchanted forests.

V1 152

V1 153

Another thing I have to share with you is my new recycling project. Actually, two projects! The first one is the scrappy yarn I’ve been slowly making for quite some time now.

V1 167

Every now and then I take my bag of yarn scraps and while watching listening to TV, I tie them into a new ball of yarn. It’s a slow process, but kind of meditating. I even separated cotton from viscose, black from white, and all those chunky woolly bits were tied together to make that crazy big ball of “everything else”. 🙂

V1 169

So I decided to use some of that lovely crazy yarn (the off white cotton to be precise) , and on top of that I recycled and old bed sheet to weave this rug!

V1 173

Look at all those knots coming through and giving a nice texture to the rug! That’s what I wanted to achieve!

V1 179

They are a bit shy now but they will come out even more after I wash it.

V1 177

I am happy with my new rug! 🙂 Imagine the possibilities with that scrappy yarn, not only in weaving but also in knitting and crocheting! Oohhh, so many ideas are coming to my mind!

Have a great weekend everyone!

 

12 thoughts on “This and That

  1. The books are great! I want to examine all the different ways you created texture. I love pressed flowers and leaves. Your rug is Awesome!! When can I order one?! The eye-candy is inspiring!

Leave a Reply

