One Cake and Two Bags

I have been doing a million things lately, sewing, cooking, baking, spending time with friends, etc. But I didn’t photograph much, so here are the things I did manage to photograph. πŸ™‚

A cake recipe that is so versatile and easy to transform into many things. Here is the basic recipe:

5 eggs

1 cup of oil (sunflower oil or any neutral oil)

2 cups of milk or yogurt

4 cups of white sugar

2 tsp. of baking powder

6 cups of flour

 

Mix the egg whites first, add sugar and mix until they form soft peaks, add yolks, mix some more, then add everything else and mix until combined. It’s that easy!

Now, you could add fruit to the cake and bake it; you could add cinnamon or vanilla extract, or absolutely nothing at all and make a nice spongy cake to have with milk for breakfast; if you bake it half way through and add shredded apples with a little bit of sugar, then of course finish baking, you have a different cake; maybe add some chopped nuts and raisins; make muffins, or just bake a sponge and cut it in half so that you can add cream of choice and icing on top…You see, there are so many possibilities with this recipe! You could even adjust sugar and oil content.

What I did this time was that I reduced sugar a bit, and oil, and I added whole wheat flour instead of white one. Then I added plums, sprinkled a little sugar on them, and baked it. It turned out amazing! Believe me, this recipe always works.

Cake

Cake

After the cake was eaten πŸ™‚ my husband asked me if I could make him a bag. He wanted a messenger bag with lots of pockets. I’ve never made a messenger bag before, but that didn’t stop me. A little bit of Internet research, and we have a first not so perfect bag

V. 034

and then a second very good one!

V. 035

V. 038

I am very happy with this one, and my husband loves it! He loves the first one too, but the second bag is much sturdier and has more pockets. I combined the cotton fabric with leather to give it a bit of interest, and even though my stitching is not absolutely perfect, it’s not that noticeable. I’m a perfectionist, so when I say it’s ok, then it’s ok. lol! I am so happy hubby likes it. πŸ™‚

Have a great day everyone!

23 thoughts on “One Cake and Two Bags

      • I baked your cake last night, added a few frozen mixed berries and vanilla to the mix and it came out absolutely delicious and HUGE!! Thank you dear Sonja for another super recipe. My other half took half the cake to work to share with his coworkers this morning. xoxo

      • Monika you are so kind to tell me that! Thank you! I’m happy you tried it and liked it! It really is a great recipe to alter and transform in any way you like. xoxo!!!

  1. Hello!

    Your blog has caught our attention because of the quality of the recipes. We would be delighted if you would join us at http://www.mytaste.com/ so that we could link to it.

    myTaste.com is a search engine that compiles the best American cooking sites and blogs from the Internet. Several hundred blogs are already enrolled here and are taking benefit from the traffic we are sending to their sites.

    To join myTaste, just go to http://www.mytaste.com/add-your-food-blog

    Best regards,
    Elin
    MyTaste.com

  2. At this point, I want to have the cake first- and then go for the recipe πŸ™‚ Speaking of cakes, I think I never had one. I dated this girl back in late teens who was a christian and she got me what she called Christmas Cake. That was my first cake! IT was amazing. At home, we never got cakes because supposedly we didn’t have eggs and it was difficult to have eggless cakes. It was not as if it was banned but parents didn’t have eggs, so… 😦
    But even after staying out of home for over 15 years, I am yet to taste a proper cake. What I got hold of was pastry ( a little bigger in size ) put up as birthday cake. But thats not cake right? Has to be baked one.

    Awesome bag and so are the two models πŸ™‚

  3. The cake recipe sounds yummy! I have a weakness for this type of cake!! Maybe I’ll have time to bake this weekend….hmmm…what to mix with it…..

    Sonja, your messenger bags are wonderful. Thanks for showing us the inside of the 2nd one. Where can I get one or make one? Maybe you should publish a pattern.

    • Thank you so much Lynnita! Unfortunately, I don’t have a pattern, I was making what my husband wanted. πŸ™‚ But if I make another one I will photograph every step and maybe make a tutorial that way.

Leave a Reply

