We Love Kale!

Do you eat your vegetables? πŸ™‚

I love to have a lot of vegetables in every meal. I do love meat, but if you’d give me just a piece of meat on the plate, I don’t think I would be able to eat it. There has to be cooked vegetables with it, and a fresh salad of course. But I also think that not every meal has to have meat in it. There are many vegetarian options that are just delicious! Like this one!

You will need kale, of course.

Y4 024

Chopped into small pieces.

Y4 026

Chop onions and garlic, or leaks ad garlic, or all that together πŸ™‚ and fry them on a little bit of oil, just until they are softened.

Y4 027

Then add kale and cook it for a short time, for about 4-5 minutes. You want it to be green and a little bit soft, and to take all those flavors form onions and garlic. Add carrots and seasoning.

Y4 028

Then put it into a baking dish, sprinkle as much cheese on it as you like,

Y4 031

and then pour a mix of eggs and milk over it. Or use cream and eggs, or yogurt and eggs…what ever you like. I used about 400 ml milk and three eggs because I wanted it to be less fatty. πŸ™‚

Y4 032

Bake at about 200 C or 390 F until it’s golden.

Y4 037

Y4 039

Yummy! πŸ™‚

You can also add other things to this dish, like bacon or small chunks of meat, or to keep it vegetarian you could add peppers, cooked rice, or potato. So many possibilities! I like to experiment and play with food. πŸ™‚ How about you?

 

 

14 thoughts on “We Love Kale!

  1. We do not get much of kale but it looks like cauliflower somewhat. IS it something like that? Come to think of it, I can do the exact same thing with Cauliflower as well-and see what happens πŸ™‚
    I am curious about one other thing though. Cheese is good for health right? Because I am confused. They have over 250 varieties of cheese in France and I wish to taste them all. But I don’t want to be a 100Kgs once again πŸ˜› . What do you think?

    • Tatsat, kale is from cabbage family, but you could use cauliflower no problem! And for the cheese, I guess using just a little bit as a seasoning should not be the problem. And go for the melting ones for this recipe. Experiment! Have fun! πŸ™‚

  2. Dear Sonja, we did try your recipe yesterday and WOW!!! It was sooo yummy. I added a little bacon as well as onion, garlic, kale, carrot, tomatoes and a zucchini and grated some Gruyere and Parmesan cheese over it (plus milk and eggs according to your recipe). Y U M M Y!!! Thank you so much for sharing your recipe, this will become a staple in our house!! xoxo

  3. This sounds yummy. We love Kale here as well. This is definitely going to go on the must try list. Thank You for sharing it. By the way – How’s the ‘an inchie a day’ coming along?

Leave a Reply

