Something New

Actually, all I wanted to do is organize and clean my studio! But then some of my souvenir journals sold and I had to make new journals for the shop. Then a friend called me to say that her friends wanted to buy shawls from me , so I had to weave. And then my dog had some health problems, which as usual made me go insane with worry, so to calm my self down, I made beads. Lots of beads. That way I could be in the same room with him, and it kept my hands busy and my mind occupied. It helped.

Luckily, he feels better now.

So here are the shawls:

Variegated yarn with a touch of sparkling mohair,Β  very warm and soft.

Y1 030

The next one looks completely different than in this photo, but my camera didn’t want to cooperate. It’s a shame it looks so ugly here when in real life it’s lovely and sparkly and violet…

Y1 033

Shades of green:

Y1 035

This shawl was finished about a monthΒ  ago, but I forgot to photograph it, so here it is now.

Y1 028

I hope ladies will like them. πŸ™‚

Y1 036

Masculine journal:

Y1 041

Coptic binding, mixed media journal.

Y1 044

Y1 045

And a feminine one:

Y1 047

Altered book. Handmade paper, coffee stained paper, lace, paint.

Y1 048

Y1 049

And beads, of course!

Beaded beads

Y1 004

Yarn beads

Y1 007

Sequin beads

Y1 011

Painted beads

Y1 013

Denim beads

Y1 014

Suede beads

Y1 019

Leather beads

Y1 022

Paper beads

Y1 021

Crazy giant bead

Y1 026

And now I want to make even more beads! They are SO addictive! I’ll have to buy more storage containers because I have no idea where to put them. πŸ™‚ But it is so relaxing and fun to take all those fabric scraps, bits of yarn, all kinds of paper, and while watching (well, actually listening to) TV, make these beauties. And yes, my living room is a mess again, but who cares. I have gorgeous beads now! πŸ™‚

Oh, and I almost finished organizing and cleaning my studio, although it will soon be a complete chaos there, as it usually is, but never mind. πŸ™‚

16 thoughts on “Something New

  1. I like the green shawl as well as the masculine journal πŸ™‚ Not sure how you are able to put the masculine tag in there, but to me it is appealing πŸ˜›

  2. Your work is stunning…as always. I leave your blogs feeling inspired to create more things myself. I am making my first altered book at the moment but I’m having a little bother with glueing the pages together neatly. I suppose I will just have to try harder to get them all smooth. I thought all of the shawls looked beautiful. I do hope your dog is completely recovered now, and thank you so much for sharing your things with us.

  3. Hi Sonja, I just wanted to let you know that I was one of the winners form the Blue Twig ATC Vintage challenge and I was lucky enough to receive one of your pieces….it is awesome. I love the vintage photo of the lady holding the hat on her head, the butterflies with the gems, and the lovely textured background. It is beautiful!!! Thank you! I’m honored to have a piece of your art. And your blog is adorable. I LOVE the journal!! Peace, Sue Olsen http://www.suzenart.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

