My Goulash

If you like delicious, heart and belly warming food, food that asks for a nice glass of wine with it (and in it, LOL!), then this is for you. 🙂

As usual, I don’t have exact measurements for the ingredients, but as we say here in Serbia, the best food is made without the exact recipe. But I’ll try to give you some directions with the photos.

First you’ll need a bigger pot in which you’ll put about six or seven table spoons of oil and add one big onion, chopped. Fry that for a couple of minutes.

DSC_0005

Then add as much bacon as you like :), or about 300 – 400 grams, cut into small cubes. When bacon is fried a bit, add chopped carrots, leek, red and green pepper, and fry that again for a couple of minutes. I used about four peppers in total, one whole leek, two medium carrots…you get the point. You can put the amount you like. You can also add mushrooms into this dish, but I didn’t this time.

DSC_0009

The best goulash is made with two or, even better, three types of meet. I used beef, pork and wild boar, but if you don’t have wild boar you could use lamb, it is absolutely delicious in this dish.

So, I added about 500 grams of each meat, chopped into small pieces,

DSC_0013

and one glass of white wine, four bay leafs, ground pepper, salt, one big spoon of paprika, one chopped potato and chopped celery (root, about half a cup).

Put the lid on top, cook on medium heat, and forget about it for one to one and a half hours. After that time, the meat should be very soft when you pinch it. Or you could and should try it, check if it needs more seasoning, and you’re done. The amount I cooked was enough to serve about eight very hungry people, but since it’s a “strong” dish, you could serve it with potatoes, rice, or pasta, and then you have it for even more hungry mouths. 🙂 But the great things is that you could cook a large amount, freeze portions,  and when you reheat it, no one will know it wasn’t cooked minutes ago. 🙂

Of course, when the goulash is ready, add chopped garlic and parsley before you serve it.

DSC_0018

In my defense, I’ll say that we had guests and I needed this amount. 🙂

They loved it! 🙂

15 thoughts on “My Goulash

  1. I followed the recipe with utmost attention, till I got to the meat part 😀 If only you had slipped in fish ( because I am a vegetarian and they are like fruit of the sea 😛 )… But in my defence, I have not tried those animals either 🙂 So…who knows 🙂 🙂

  2. What can I say- you’re simply THE BEST!
    Love U!!!
    This looks perfect, and I’m sure that it is tasty as it looks…maybe I’ ll try to make it once…😂😂😂

Leave a Reply

