Happy End

Another wonderful weekend was spent in the mountains with my parents. It was extremely hot here in Belgrade, so we had to escape.

It was like “Animal Planet” live! πŸ™‚

A 025

A 068

A 064

A 088

I live in a wonderful part of Belgrade which is full of parks and greenery, with Sava river just a hundred meters from my building. But for me it feels like it’s not a ‘true’ nature. Trees and birds seem so different in the mountains, more natural and free.

A 078

Boots were a must there; when it’s warm, snakes come out! πŸ™‚

A 084

We found one (edible) mushroom, and gorgeous herbs for tea. Not bad. πŸ™‚

A 100

But most importantly, we have a little family in our yard! I’m not sure how these birds are called but they are so cute!

A 109

They made the nest in a straw bag (with magazines), which hangs outside of the gazebo.

A 049

At first my father didn’t want to remove the plastic “windows” because he didn’t want to scare the birds, but the birds (mom and dad) kept flying inside the gazebo and didn’t know how to come out because of the plastic.

A 050

So he carefully started to take it down, trying not to stress the birdies too much. But, even though he had the best intentions, he accidently shook the bag, and the babies fell out of it. They could fly just a bit, so at least they were not hurt, but we were all so scared for them! I started collecting them and putting them back into the nest, but one baby flew a bit further and camouflaged so well in the grass, it took us quite a while to find it. My dad was so desperate to find it, and I wanted that little bird to be safe in the nest, not only for it’s own good, but also for my dad, because I knew he felt so guilty. But I found it, and put it back into the nest, which was an incredible relief for all of us! Then we waited a bit to see if the birds calmed down, and when they started feeding their young, and everything was ok again, we decided to go home and not disturb them anymore. A disaster avoided. I can’t describe how awful we all felt when those babies fell out of the nest. But everything is fine again, they will not be disturbed anymore. My parents are even postponing fixing the roof because of the birds.

So, it’s a happy ending. Four lives saved. And a good thing we have a dog who doesn’t have hunting skills, he just wanted to swim and wasn’t impressed with birds at all. πŸ™‚

A 030

8 thoughts on “Happy End

  1. What a wonderful story and pictures! Your Dad sounds really sweet! I’m so glad we don’t have snakes where I live…in fact we don’t need to worry about very much at. There is nothing in the bush that is harmful at all…so we are lucky…as are the birds who found the perfect place to build their nest.

Leave a Reply

