Healthy Vegetarian Breakfast

It’s hard for me to believe that I haven’t had any sweets or cakes for, how long now, three weeks at least? And the biggest surprise is that I don’t miss them! I only had a small amount of dark chocolate twice, but I think that’s ok because chocolate is healthy in small amounts. But for someone who had to eat sweets every single day, this is amazing! 🙂

And not only that, but I also eat way less bread than I used to. If any, I eat it for breakfast and that’s all, which is another miracle.

Here are some ideas for a healthy breakfast.

Whole wheat bread, mustard, eggplant paste (or pate), sprouts and olives.

C 032

To make the eggplant paste (as I like to call it), just cut eggplant in half or in larger chunks, bake it at moderate to high heat until it’s not watery (about half an hour or a bit more), then peal it and put it in a food processor and add what ever you like to it – salt, pepper, garlic, maybe a tsp of mustard, parsley, oregano, olives…You can add peppers or cheese to the mix too. Go wild! 🙂 It can sit in the refrigerator for 4-5 days and still taste great, and it can be used as a dip or as a side dish. Great stuff!

Another combination is to put some peanut butter on your bread, then (again) mustard, (I love mustard!), then alfalfa and sunflower seed sprouts, C 038

with lots of cucumber slices on top.

C 040

Or tomato.

)) 018

And you have a tasty and healthy meal that contains lots of vitamins and fiber.

Sprouts are a vitamin bomb and they are so easy to grow in your home. There are some differences depending on what seeds you want to sprout, but in general, all you need is the seeds (alfalfa, sunflower, quinoa, beans…), a glass jar, a piece of gauze or bandage, and a rubber band. From this

(( 028

to this

) 012...

and this

C 030

in just a few days! You can find many tips about sprouting online, but if you have any questions, please ask.  And of course, there are many ways to use sprouts in your food, not only in sandwiches. 🙂

10 thoughts on “Healthy Vegetarian Breakfast

  1. First, congratulations on your success! I knew you could do it! And now you’ve inspired a lot of other people who need that little boost! Now for the breakfasts you’ve featured. Wow! Just damn wow! I can’t wait to roast an eggplant — and especially i can’t wait to sprout some seeds. It’s been ages since I did that, and I have no idea why I haven’t thought of it recently. —-Busy with my juicer getting all the goodness out of the fresh-from-the-farm veggies? Busy making kale chips? (Busy eating kale chips?) —–all of the above, actually. Keep up the great work! Xoxoxo

    • Sadie, you are lucky to have fresh veggies and fruit every day! I buy at the market, and I’m not sure it’s all healthy and pesticides free, but I have to eat something. 🙂 And don’t worry, we all have those periods of forgetting to do something, like sprouting for example,lol!
      Thank you for the encouragement, I really appreciate it! xoxoxo!!!

    • Thanks Deb! It’s pretty easy, I have to admit. Although, I’m waiting for those sweet cinnamon rolls or strudels to call me, and I know I won’t be able to refuse, but as long as I do good most of the time, it won’t be a problem to slip once in a while. 🙂

  2. I have been adviced to eat a mixture of 4 pulses, soaked in water for about 6 hours. So, I am on way to healthy fooding habits as well 🙂 Already missing the fatty,fried food 😦

    I have tried to cucumber and tomato sandwich myself. And they are fine.But I never had the one with eggplant. So I can try that out myself over the weekend ( which basically is today ). Lovely dressing!

  3. Apparently not. 😦 My shop will have to wait because I obviously live in a country that is on some kind of a “black list”. We are “not eligible to receive funds”, as they say on PayPall. So, until our government decides to take some action, which is probably going to be in another decade, I’m stuck. And angry.

    • That is preposterous!
      But I would suggest not to give up hope. I don’t know much about logistics that businesses generally adhere to, but there must be a way out. I mean you could keep an eye out for those business models. Like we have a venture called ” flipkart ” here ( established by alumni from my university, so I know about it well ). They started from a scratch and have grown into something really good. They introduced “pay on delivery” system some time back. Not sure if that is what would work for you, but there is ALWAYS a way out… 🙂

  4. Thank you Tatsat! I do sell my work in a shop here in Belgrade, and also do custom orders. But it would be great to be able to sell online too. Maybe it will be possible in a few months, I am hopeful. 🙂

Leave a Reply

