Scraps and Hearts

I think there is no hope of getting my studio in order. I try and try to clean it and make it look, well, not like a bomb site (lol!), but almost every time I do that, I find so many interesting things and get easily distracted. πŸ™‚ How can I sort through my laces and doilies and not get inspired? How can I look at those tea dyed fabrics, scraps of silk and cotton, and just put them away? It’s impossible! I think next time when my muse “goes on holiday”, I should start cleaning up and she will be with me right away! πŸ™‚

Maybe you remember the scrappy fabric from one of my previous posts:

## 088

It doesn’t look like much in that photo, but I made some cute things out of it.

Two cosmetic bags:

.. 032

And a journal:

.. 023

.. 024

It has pink and pale lilac handmade paper inside, with a little bit of lace, just to connect the inside with the cover. Maybe I should name it “Button love”. πŸ™‚ Here is the back:

.. 026

I also finally finished this journal. I love the brown velvet:

## 087

It also has handmade paper inside, dyed with acrylic paint and tea.

.. 021

Since I don’t like throwing anything away (that’s why my studio is always a mess), I made some hearts out of scraps of fabric and lace, and they will be used for journal covers or to decorate a purse or something. Sewing these pretties is a wonderful way to be creative without having a pressure of working on a big piece, but also it’s great for using all those bits and pieces that are lying around.

.. 030

Sewing with small pieces of fabric makes me feel like I am working in my Art Journal. My thoughts and feelings are pieced together, making a solid piece of fabric that has a much deeper meaning than a “plain” piece of fabric would. Working in Art Journal makes me feel free and able to express my feelings without thinking too much about what I do or how I do it. It feels good to just be spontaneous. The same thing happens when I make these scrappy pieces.

Speaking of Art Journal, I have four new pages to show you. πŸ™‚

.. 002

This is my handmade journal with textured handmade paper inside. I love it! But there are only a few blank pages in it left to work on, so I will have to make another one. What a great excuse to make more paper. πŸ™‚

.. 006

.. 010

.. 011

.. 014

.. 017

.. 007

.. 008

Have a great day! πŸ™‚

.. 013

 

 

 

 

18 thoughts on “Scraps and Hearts

  1. Oh, so beautiful, Sonja! I relate only too well to trying to tidy and organize my crafting/sewing/art apace. The major difference is that you make such lovely things as your bits and scraps of this and that inspire you. I just get excited and IMAGINE all the great things I could do with my stashes! One of these days I will have it all under control. Yes I will. I really mean it this time. Haha.

    • LOL! Sadie I also have those moments when everything happens in my head, but nothing comes to life. But that can be so exciting! It’s the volume of ideas and our own genius that keeps us actually not making things, right? :))) My own “cleaning the studio saga” continues, and I am too an optimist that one day I will have a tidy space to work in. But for now it feels like living in the jungle. πŸ™‚

  2. I love seeing your work. It is always so beautiful and inspiring to me. But I am with you when it comes to my studio space. I don’t throw anything away either. And cleaning it all up just seems to be an impossible task these days. I would probably feel better if I had more time to actually spend creating something. πŸ™‚

    • Deb sometimes I feel that cleaning the studio is equally creative. πŸ™‚ Trying to sort through everything, finding space for all those bits and pieces, requires imagination and creativity big time! LOL!

  3. I think its impossible to stop you from coming up with these beauties. Even if they put you on an island with just one coconut tree and nothing else, you might still come up with something or the other πŸ˜‰
    My favourite is the brown journal… πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

