Lunch Time!

I thought I could share with you two nice recipes. Easy to make, although not very fast, but then again not like a “whole day cooking” kinda recipes. πŸ™‚

First there is the “Hunter’s stake” or “Hunter’s schnitzel” – well, as close as I could translate that. You will need beef or pork, cut and beat to make thin pieces. Then dip them in flour.

DSC_0140

Fry in oil on moderate to high heat until they are golden brown ( that should be quite fast).

DSC_0147

When all the steaks are fried, put them in a pot, adding salt and pepper and lots of chopped garlic and parsley between the layers of meat.

DSC_0148

DSC_0150

Add about half (or as much as you like) of glass of white wine, put the lid on and let that simmer for ten to fifteen minutes.

DSC_0152

Then add water to almost cover the meat, put the lid on and let it simmer on medium to low heat for as much as it takes for the meat to be tender and wonderful. But I guess it should take anywhere from half to one hour. Also, you will see in the next photo how the flour makes a gorgeous sauce.

DSC_0160

Unfortunately, I don’t have any more photos because this meal was eaten so fast, I forgot to photograph our plates. But believe me, if you like meat, you will love this. Serve it with mashed potatoes and enjoy. πŸ™‚

While the meat was on the stove, I made some dog biscuits, because I want my dog to eat healthy food, not the store bought “filled with chemicals” stuff. πŸ™‚ Here is something like the recipe, I don’t have the exact measurements:

Two eggs and a big spoon of lard (you could use butter too). Mix that a bit,

DSC_0153

Add about two table spoons of ground flax seeds and about a cup of oat flakes.

DSC_0155

You could add yogurt ( half of cup) or sour cream, or white cheese, or any cheese, or all that actually, and then add flour until the dough is firm, but not too firm, just until it’s not sticking to your hands. You should have something like this:

DSC_0159

You could even add chopped bacon or minced meat, but in that case store the biscuits in the fridge after they are baked or in the freezer if you have a lot of them.

Make any shape you like. I like them like this:

DSC_0162

Bake at 200 degrees (Celsius) for about 20 minutes, or until they are light brown in color.

DSC_0164

A happy customer:

DSC_0165

And because my husband loved Meda’s biscuits, I then had to make a batch for him too. I did the same thing as already described, just added pumpkin seeds and sunflower seeds (as my hubby requested), and voila! Another happy face! πŸ™‚

DSC_0167

The only difference between Meda’s and our biscuits is salt. I don’t put it in Meda’s food, and I even forgot to put it in our biscuits this time, but because I added sour cream and cheese to the mix, the salt wasn’t needed at all. πŸ™‚

Have a great day!

9 thoughts on “Lunch Time!

  1. Awesome ! You should write more on the recipe’s front, if possible on the vegetarian side of things πŸ˜‰
    I have come to realise Meda’s taste are not constrained by his species πŸ™‚ So I am going to take a shot at his food basket. Lets see how it goes πŸ™‚

    • Tatsat I guess I should write more about food, it’s always interesting to see what people like to eat in different countries. It’s just that I often forget to photograph everything. πŸ™‚ I’ll try to do this more often. πŸ™‚
      About Meda – labradors are well known for their amazing abilities when it comes to food, they like to eat absolutely everything and in extremely large quantities. πŸ™‚

      • Ohh thats wonderful. In my part of the world, we are not quite encouraged to keep pets. But thanks to my freinds like you overseas, I realise that it is something that we should engage in more often. You should more about him. Would be good to know about him.

        Yeah well… it is a fascinating journey of sorts, to know about different fooding traditions. But we all must talk about it, even if it just for the sake of education. Life is brief enough already to know about what goes in other parts of the world. Why not exploit it in whichever ways we can πŸ˜‰

  2. You are so right! Absolutely! Most of the time, for me blogs are the best source of information about other countries and traditions, maybe because they have that personal touch that no travel guide can have. πŸ™‚
    You do inspire me to write about other things, not just my work and hobbies. Thank you for that! Sometimes we need a little “push” at the other direction, which makes us realize that it is what we needed. I realized that I really should write more about other things in my life. It’s sometimes boring, even for me, to write only about art and crafts. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

