Happy Day

It’s been almost a month since my last blog post, but I have been busy with holiday things, and at the same time my muse went probably skiing or who knows, maybe to some warmer climate. I can only tell for sure that she wasn’t here! And I almost started freaking out! I feel terrible when I can’t create. I just don’t know what to do with my self! But I couldn’t make anything, I couldn’t do anything in my art journal, I couldn’t even doodle. Nothing, except my first ever try at Amigurumi, which ended up in one sad little toy, LOL!

Meet my new friend who is leaning on an orange so that you can see him better. πŸ™‚

Sitnice 014

It’s very badly done, but for a first time crocheting something like this, I must say it’s ok. And we love him. My dog already tried to steal him. πŸ™‚

But enough of that, I actually wanted to tell you about two lovely gifts I received today! I came home from shopping (nothing fancy, just supplies), and found TWO packages in my mail box! The first one was from Deb who recently celebrated her second blogaversary, and very generously picked eight people (!) to send a Happy Mail to! And I was lucky to be one of those eight people, so I got some gorgeous papers, fabrics, all kinds of inspirational things to be used in my art, some beads and sequins, buttons, puzzle pieces etc.

Sitnice 012

Sitnice 013

I already have lots of ideas for how I will use these goodies. Some will go into my art journal, some in my diary, some will be altered and used in a mini album that I plan to start making, etc. Thank you so much Deb!!!

Another package came from Mary. We exchanged some materials a while ago, and the plan was to make something for each other using those materials. But Mary was so thoughtful and so generous as always, she sent me so many things! A lovely rabbit doll with a handmade dress, along with a handmade book and a brooch, some die cuts, etc.

Sitnice 002

She also sent me some clear stamps which I LOVE!

Sitnice 003

I’m all into butterflies lately, and these stamps are just what I needed! This is actually a second set that I got from Mary, but I’m using the first one right now for a project that I’m working on, so I can’t show you those. πŸ™‚

And then, ta-daaa! πŸ™‚ A prayer flag or a banner, I’m sorry I don’t know how it’s called in English, but I love love love it!!!

It has three layers, this is the first one:

Sitnice 004

There is a beautiful little book tucked in the pocket on the front:

Sitnice 005

I love all the details

Sitnice 010

Here is the second layer:

Sitnice 006

And the third:

Sitnice 007

It is absolutely beautiful and I’m afraid that my photos are not good enough. Thank you so much Mary! I will keep this flag in my studio and look at it every day.

And another great thing is that my muse came back! I am finally able to spread my wings and create! πŸ™‚ It feels sooo good!

17 thoughts on “Happy Day

  1. So glad you got your package from me. Can’t wait to see what you do with the goodies. And I love your cute little amigurumi guy. too cute. The layered prayer flag is really beautiful. How wonderful you got some happy mail and your muse came back. Coincidence? I think not! πŸ™‚

  2. So, you guys have a broad network of like minded artists ? I mean there should be, right? That way, one could appreciate what others have done, get ideas, trouble shoot or the other way round. I am sorry, I probably am a bit too technical and creativity in such form is Greek and Latin to me πŸ™‚

    This all is just so magical. The little books, and the small toys. Ordinary muggles like me see these in shops and think it is probably the handiwork of some magician πŸ™‚

    Its good to finally read something from your side πŸ™‚ Hope you have a wonderful 2013.

  3. Hey Sonja! Love the blog entry! It’s always good to hear you aren’t the only one who has uninspiring days/weeks! Thank you so much for sharing! chris

  4. Lovely surprises Sonja! Have tons of fun with all the bits, and Mary’s work always inspires!
    Glad your muse is back… I know how you feel- had to stop work over xmas because friends were staying, but it drove me mad not making anything! Now I’m catching up and finishing off… have a great 2013! xxx

  5. That flag/banner is beautiful! How lucky you are πŸ™‚

    Your crochet is adorable though! (but I hesitate to ask… dog? rabbit? mythological critter?) Whatever it is, it looks absolutely squishably cuddly! ❀

  6. The Prayer Banner is beautiful – I love it – Also, I love your new little crochet friend – He is precious!
    You are always creating new and exciting pieces – Love your style!
    ~Kristine

Leave a Reply

