Mostly Journal Pages

My journal(s) have been the best relaxation for me lately. In the evenings, especially while my husband was in Rome (for the whole month!), I used to turn on the TV just to listen to it, and then draw, doodle, or just cut interesting magazine pages. ( Although I don’t read magazines, my friends and family sometimes give me old ones to play with ).

Art Journal, Collage, painting and all that stuff is actually quite new to me. I started exploring these art forms about a year ago (even though I started scrapbooking a few years back, but that was a bit different), and in the beginning I had no idea what to do. Then slowly it became more clear to me what Art Journal is, and that there are no rules for how to do it. Which was liberating! I realized I could do what ever I wanted and it didn’t have to be pretty at all! I also realized that my old diaries were actually a bit “arty” as I liked to draw or glue things in them. And I am still learning. Oh, there is SO much to learn. But it is fun. And as I said, relaxing. And fun! lol! I know now that playing is very important. For me it’s the thing that makes me happy and makes me more brave to try new things, new techniques, makes me more confident. I even started showing my ugly journal pages here on my blog, which is a big step for me!

Weaving is and will always be my first and biggest love. But everything else I do enriches my life and even my weaving. So, here are my journal pages, some good and some horrible. šŸ™‚

Unfinished collage pages, exploring colors and patterns:

An unsuccessful page:

Strange “plants”:

I do have a shawl to show you also, but the photo is so bad, you won’t be able to see the real colors, only the texture and the pattern. It should be “every shade of green” shawl, but in the photo it looks almost brownish. It’s my bad camera. Yeah, blame the camera. šŸ™‚

I think it’s enough for one post, don’t you? šŸ™‚

14 thoughts on “Mostly Journal Pages

  1. Your pages sre great Sonja, I really must make more of a effort to journal daily,I also blame my camera when I try to photograph purple,it always looks blue. But even in brown it looks great.

  2. The shawl looks really good as browns so I’m sure it’s even prettier in greens. I think your journal pages are great. I have a hard time showing pages that I think are not as good as I would like them to be as well.

    • Thank you Terri! It gets easier over time to show “bad” work. And what sometimes looks bad to us can actually look good to someone else. But it’s all about learning and playing, isn’t it? šŸ™‚

    • Thank you Eliza! I am working a lot, and the shawls come of my loom fairly quickly because of that. It takes me about two days to make one shawl, but this is a winter shawl, made with thick yarn. For working with finespun yarn I need a lot more time.

Leave a Reply

