New Shawls

Here they are, as promised!

These came out perfect, but…The thing is, when I weave for people I don’t know (like in this case, 30 women that I’ve never met), the best way to do it is to weave simple designs, at least that’s my experience. There are ladies who like unusual garments, but more often they want something that “goes with everything”. And to tell you the truth, even though I understand that, at the same time I don’t. Because, for me, the best thing is to have a handwoven piece that stands out a bit. A piece that makes a plane outfit totally original and noticed. But, that’s me. When I weave pieces for the shop, I weave what my inspiration commands, and I like to use many different colors and textures. And people buy them. But now, with this order, I think it would be best to make these “neutral” shawls. At least there is much greater chance for ladies to like and wear them. That is the point, right?

10 thoughts on “New Shawls

  1. They are all lovely of course. When the order for 30 came in, didn’t they give you any guidance about what they wanted you to do? If not, I might add some of your more colorful and intricate ones as well as these more basic ones. A bit of variety is good!

  2. Deb, it’s an order for a company that wants to give the shawls as presents to their workers. And they didn’t say anything about colors or design, which is no surprise for me, people often don’t know exactly what they want, they only know they want a handwoven piece. But that’s ok, I’m used to that. And it feels good to know they trust me. πŸ™‚ But I will definitely make many different shawls, so something for everybody. πŸ™‚

  3. These are gorgeous and I must say I’m a little envious that I don’t work at that company and won’t, therefore, be receiving one of these beauties as a gift.

    However, I totally agree with you. The ‘average’ person may ooh and ahh over the unusual, but they tend to still buy the plain. I love the quirk and eccentricities that come from the weaver’s imaginations.

    If I had monies, I would totally ask you to make me one and follow your wildest whims.

    Maybe next year…

  4. You are soooo brave and more clever! I would cringe at the thought of making things for people I don’t even know. If it’s any consolation…I would welcome any of those in a heartbeat!

  5. Wow! You’ll be busy for quite a while, weaving 30 shawls. Were these three all done on the same warp? I think they’re fabulous, and with 30 different tastes, I’m sure every one of those lucky women will have something that appeals to each. Good for you, Sonja! Keep showing….we want to see all thirty!!

Leave a Reply

