Nothing special

I don’t know what is going on with this weather, but it seems like we had Spring and then Autumn. Maybe in a month or two we might get some snow? 🙂

It’s absolutely not very inspiring for me to look at the gray skies and rain all day. I need sunshine to keep me moving, sometimes literally. Lately, all I want to do is to sleep.

And with some not very fun things that needed to be dealt with in the last week or so, I haven’t done much of anything artistic. An ugly page in my art journal, a lot of baking and cooking, a lot of eating and slowly gaining weight, a delivery of my little books to a store and some of them being sold almost instantly (which was the only good thing lately), I can tell you I just feel kinda “deflated”. Not that I don’t have ideas or inspiration, because I do. I just feel tired. Mentally tired.

But I don’t want to sound like I’m whining or something, it’s not that bad! After all, I did manage to clean up my studio a bit, and even make some T-shirt yarn.

It’s not a continuous yarn, because the T shirts were full of seams, but it has a nice length for a weaving project I have in mind. I want to make a doggie bed spread, because I haven’t made any in a couple of years and I think Meda deserves a new one. 🙂 The first one I made for him was a quilt made with recycled jeans, then the second was a quilt made with recycled summer dresses, which is a bit girly, but Meda doesn’t seem to mind,LOL! So this one will be another recycling project, and I can’t wait to start! But first I have to finish a scarf that waited for too long to be worked on.

My mother once noticed that my dog sleeps on a very valuable bed, as it’s handmade and unique.  LOL!  But he is my baby and I love making things for him.  I just baked two pans of cookies for him, because I want him to eat healthy treats. But then I made another batch for me and my hubby, and that was something we really didn’t need late in the evening. 🙂 Oh well, now it’s too late to be sorry.

I hope you had a wonderful weekend!

Do I smell cookies? I have to go! 🙂

12 thoughts on “Nothing special

  1. MMMM. Cookies. Yum! Of course, my weakness is Ice Cream! 🙂
    My dogs have good blankets too. Why shouldn’t we spoil our dogs? We love them!
    Hope you get out of your doldrums soon! Take Care!

  2. Earlier this year we had to have our old cat put to sleep. He would have been 19 in April. About three weeks ago I went to the SPCA and sat on the floor in the cat room. Two beautiful creatures came and sat on my knee…and now they are our cats. Tabitha is a tabby and white long haired three year old and Brooke is a black with a smidge of white short haired…and already they are spoilt rotten. And give Meda lots of cuddles and tell him your woes. Pets are so good at making us feel better…..

    • Bonnie, I am so sorry about your cat. I can only imagine how sad it was. But I know that Tabitha and Brooke give you lots of love. You should spoil them of course! They deserve it! 🙂

  3. I think the weather gods must have turned the Europe maps upside down for a week or two, Sonja. We have gone from winter to summer up here in the North and have enjoyed a couple of weeks of wall-to-wall sunshine and temperatures above 25C! BUT it is going to change back to normal as from tomorrow, temperatures dropping by 10 degrees, so I wouldn’t be surprised if you will get your spring back, But thanks for letting us have a taste of it! LOL 🙂
    So I have not been achieving much weaving, but been out in the garden most of the time, while you have been in a state of “winter depression”. Cheer up, and start being creative again.
    Ellen

  4. Ellen, thank you for the encouragement! I’m glad that you had a wonderful weather, and in fact, I am willing to endure more rain if that means you are going to enjoy your garden! 🙂 Friends should share things, right? So, we could swap the sunshine form time to time. What do you think? 🙂

    • That’s right, Sonja. I’ll return the sun to you and you can send it back in a couple of weeks’ time, LOL

  5. I know that feeling of being mentally tired and almost too exhausted to move,but unlike me Sonja you always seem to be able to produce some great work.
    Meda deserves a new new quilt ,and i would love to see the finished article.

  6. Hello My Dear Soul Sister – I loved this post – Truly – I am sorry to hear that you have been going through some tough times, if you need a shoulder – Please reach out to me – I am all ears – Loved the stories of you cooking for Meda, making things for him etc … You take very good care of everyone in your family … You are a Superstar Wife & Mom … Love your projects and look forward to reading and seeing more …

Leave a Reply

