Still testing

I am really angry because last night I finished writing a new post here, and for some reason, it was deleted! Then I wrote another one and it was deleted again! Not by me, of course, something happened with my blog I guess. And I wrote so much, added photos, and really tried to write nicely, because it is very hard for me to write in English, trying to make it all look and sound nice and well written, but it’s gone now, and I am so angry!

I am sorry for being like this, but it’s just so frustrating. Ok, I’ll try to breathe, count to one thousand,lol, and feel calm. I’m calm. Absolutely calm.Yeah right.

Now, let’s start all over again. Although, I won’t be able to write nicely as I did the first time, here is what I’ve been up to lately.

The poncho I was weaving for my friend, the one I mentioned to you in one of my previous posts, ended up as a complete disaster!

Now, I have been weaving for over ten years, and I don’t think I’ve ever had a situation like this, but the yarn on the far left shrunk way too much! So now I have two pieces of fabric, ready to be NOT sewn into poncho, but thrown into the bin! Well, no, not really thrown away, I would never waste a handwoven fabric, no matter how bad it was. I will cut the bad part, and use the good part of it (which is over 60%) to make a cushion or something. But there is a lesson for me in all this, and that is – never trust the label! I bought some nice yarn, and it was a mix of wool, cotton and acrylic, and as I’ve never had problems with that kind of mix, I just started weaving. Note to self: make samples!!!

Anyway, I am lucky to have a friend who is very patient, and she said she would wait for her poncho. Another poncho.

But before I washed the above fabric and was able to see the horrible mistake, I already started weaving something new, so my friend will have to wait just a bit more. She doesn’t mind. I asked her. 🙂

And believe it or not, the other project didn’t start quite right either.

The pattern looked nice in the book, but not on my loom. The “floating” of a brown yarn (sorry for the lack of a proper word for it) is too long, and the yarn should probably be thicker to avoid showing the tabby. But, even though the yarn here in my country is of a good quality, the variety is terrible. I can’t find thicker cotton, so this pattern is not working for me.

So, after that, I decided to weave two pieces of plain weave, one for me and one for my dear friend Kalona. We decided to make a collaboration project, something unknown yet,lol! The plan is to exchange materials and make two art pieces each, and then to swap one of the pieces. Here is that fabric:

I have a long warp on my loom because I wanted to weave a table runner or two, and since the first pattern wasn’t right, I’ll have to think what to do next. I’ll keep you posted. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Still testing

  1. Oh dear, Sonja. I can really, really understand your frustration, first with the weaving, then with the blog! Believe me, I have had many frustrations in my weaving life, and although I don’t blog, I know what computers that misbehave is like!
    I admire you for managing to write such a controlled and calm blog about it all, – and by the way, I find your English excellent!
    PS The plain weave looks fine, and I hope it will behave all the way, – and as it is you I am sure something very special will come out of this exchange project 🙂

  2. Yay, Sonja, this post stayed put! It is horribly frustrating when you spend a ton of time on something and it doesn’t work out the way you plan (the blog post and the weaving here). But you are so sweet, you just jump right into another weaving and start planning what you can do with the piece that didn’t go according to plan. I can’t wait to see what sort of collaborative project you and your friend come up with!

  3. Ellen, I obviously made a mistake with this pattern, it’s just not working for me. Plain weave is ok, but I wanted something more interesting for the table runner. Well, at least I know which pattern not to use anymore. 🙂

  4. Deb, I do sometimes get frustrated easily, but the good thing is that I can be very stubborn too. So, if something doesn’t work, I will make it work, sooner or later! 🙂 But the blog repaired it self, I can’t take the credit for that,lol!

Leave a Reply

