It all started with a scarf

Yes, it all started with this scarf.

Slightly ruffled, woven with cotton, viscose, wool and mohair. I am a bit obsessed with ruffles lately. 🙂 Instead of using elastic yarn, I like to play with my fabric by giving it shape by hand. That way I have more control over how finished piece should look like, but also it makes me more creative and playful. Because of that, this scarf does carry some weight in the middle section (length wise), but it’s not too much, and I think that the scarf looks lovely this way – not too ruffled, but still with some movement.

The inspiration for it came from the blue-green yarn:

After the scarf was complete, I wanted to play more with that yarn. You can’t see very well, but the yarn is shimmery, which lately became my middle name – shimmer! And since I’ve joined another Swap at Milliande’s, “Art Pin Swap”, I made some pins! White handwoven fabric, that gorgeous yarn, machine stitching and some beads. Simple yet very effective. Again, the photo is not showing them as it should, really don’t know why. Maybe it has something to do with the fact that I am not a professional photographer,LOL!

Then I had to make some more! These pins are very addictive.

Ok, I had to add some purple! Another favorite color of mine. 🙂

And then, as all this wasn’t enough, I started making a journal cover!

Honestly, I love days like these when everything happens at the same time. Ideas just come to me all at once, and I keep jumping from the loom, to sewing machine,  to my desk, and repeat that a hundred times. It leaves a horrible mess in my studio, but then again, it’s a tiny studio so at least I don’t have a huge space to clean. Although, it’s getting harder and harder to move around here! 🙂

The scarf is going to be listed in my Etsy store, but the journal still needs more work. And I also started weaving something blue – again, but this time it’s more navy blue, with very interesting yarn and pattern. You’ll see it in a couple of days. 🙂

4 thoughts on “It all started with a scarf

  1. Sonja – Why am I not surprised that I love everything you have made … You are SO talented … I wish I knew how to sew … I need to take some lessons from my Mom … Love the scarf (just beautiful), the pins (love how fun they are) and the journal cover (so YOU!) … I can feel how much “heart and soul” you put into each piece … Love your work … Keep it coming!

  2. Very intreresting blog. It was very useful. I was searching exaxtly for this. Thank you for your effort. I hope you will write more such interesting posts.

Leave a Reply

