My weaving

To be honest with you, I don’t have a favorite weaving pattern. I love them all equally. They can be complex

or more simple patterns

Then there are some I weave often because they sell very well.

But what I love the most is combining different yarns and different colors. I think it’s because I’m never quite sure how the finished piece would look like, even though I have an idea of what I want to achieve, but until it’s finished the whole process has a bit of mystery to it, so that is like an adventure for me.

Here is a scarf done with different yarns in shades of blue:

Then some Autumn colors:

And here is the one that’s on my loom right now. It’s a combination of cotton and mohair, very light and airy, and for now I am very satisfied with how it looks.

As I said, I have an idea of what I want it to look like, and for now I think the yarn has been behaving very good. πŸ™‚ I used mohair to achieve the soft “wintery” look, without it being too dense and “heavy”. I want this scarf to look wonderful with any outfit – a coat, a denim jacket, a sweater.

Here is another cotton/wool/mohair scarf in green tones, not that “lacy” as the one I’m doing now, but oh so soft!

Whatever I weave, the most exciting thing for me is the element of surprise that is present in every handwoven piece. No matter if you weave with the pattern or without, Β there is at least a tiny possibility that something could turn out differently than you’ve imagined, which of course doesn’t apply if you use the same pattern and the same yarn many times, but I often feel that it should be a waste of time for me to do the same thing over and over again when there are so many new things to try – new drafts, new yarn, combinations are endless!

So, let’s wait and see how this purple loveliness turns out, and then I’ll be diving into more color combinations. I can’t wait! πŸ™‚

15 thoughts on “My weaving

  1. How wonderful to get a presentation of a lot of your weaving, Sonja!!
    I find them all very very pretty, and I can so much follow you wanting to “play” πŸ™‚ And you do it so well.
    Ellen

    • Hi Ellen! Thank you for your comment, I love hearing from you! Isn’t it amazing how many different things can be made, and how many variations even with the same yarn! That’s what I love the most about weaving! If someone would give the same yarn to all weavers in the world, I bet there would be no two woven things the same! Really, to me weaving is absolutely enchanting!  How are you? What is new on your loom? Oh, I wish you would start a blog, that would be a place of inspiration and a place for all of us to learn so much!  Hugs, Sonja :) 

      ________________________________

  2. Sonja, your creations are so beautiful!! The scarfs look so tactile and your patterns and colour combinations are so beautiful!! Congrats! The wondeful photos bring back sweet memories for me of my great auntie who taught me to weave when I was a kid:-) Thank you for sharing! xoxo

  3. Oh Sonja what can I say ,you are a true artist/craftswoman, your work is always wonderful but your weaving is just perfect. I love purple and green together.

  4. Sonja, your ability to be so creative with your weaving is refreshing. I would never in a million years come up with the variations of spacing that you’re using on that scarf; but just look at how wonderful it’s developing! All of your pieces are wonderful, but this purple just highlights how awesome you are in your fresh and fun approach to all of your pieces. I’m so glad you shared your woven pieces here!

Leave a Reply

