Lack of inspiration

It looks like my inspiration has gone on holiday. For some reason, I can’t start working properly, even though I have tons of ideas. But they just can’t come out of me. My head is buzzing, but nothing’s been done. My yarn is waiting to be woven into something beautiful, but I just can’t start! I hate when that happens!

So, to keep my self from going insane, I’ve been Β playing with paper these days, hoping for that “Eureka” moment. I started making another mini album which is going to be a gift for a dear friend of mine. I am using some gorgeous papers I brought from the US, and the album is going to be a bit more romantic and feminine that I’m used to. But I like how it’s coming together. Photos coming soon! πŸ™‚ Also, I made some cute Christmas ornaments using newspapers, masking tape, junk mail, paints, and some beads. So, nothing bought, and everything found around the house, which I like! Playing without spending money. Nice! I’m sorry my photos are so bad, (actually they are SO bad I can’t show you all of them). But this is how it started: making a small cone and adding masking tape or decoupaging newspaper to add some texture, but not too much.

Then on one cone I added a little bit of yarn and paint, and also some puff paint, so now it looks like this:

I also used some crazy fluffy yarn, or I just painted the cone and glued beads on it. But here is my favorite one – paint, glitter, stamps and big pearls – it looks like a bell.

So, it seems like my inspiration hasn’t left me completely, but I miss my “normal” state, which would be something like that Tasmanian Devil from the cartoon “The Bugs Bunny Show” – I hope you remember that, LOL! Usually I have too many ideas and so much energy, but not enough time to do everything I’d like to do, and these days I seem to have the ideas but no energy. Hmmm….Maybe a chocolate cake would cure me? What do you think? πŸ™‚

17 thoughts on “Lack of inspiration

  1. Hi Sonja.
    I think your little Christmas cones are great, and ypu just may need some time to relax after that great trip to the USA. So many impressions in so short a time you need time to digest it all, I think. So relax and wait for the burst of energy that normally characterizes you to return. – And enjoy the chocolate ckae that I am suer you are going to have and deserve!
    Ellen

    • Hi Ellen! Thank you so much for visiting my blog and leaving a comment. I love hearing from you!  How are you? I hope you are well and having fun weaving!  I haven’t been on Ravelry for a long time, will have to go and see what new lovely work you posted.  Hugs, Sonja πŸ™‚

      ________________________________

  2. I love these ornaments – Amazing how they look in the beginning stages and see what they turn into – Just beautiful – I love them – Love “The Bell” – Yes, Bugs Bunny and the Tazmanian Devil – How could we ever forget that show? Fun childhood memories … Chocolate cake solves all problems – Just remember that, Sonja πŸ™‚

  3. Ellen thank you for the advice, you are most certainly right, all that excitement and impressions are still “fresh” for me, and I hope I’ll be able to go back to my self soon. That’s the thing with inspiration – it comes and goes, and we can do nothing about it. I’ll just wait…:)

  4. Oh Sonja, I do despair of you! How can you say you are not creative?? And perhaps you have creators block because it knows what it wants to do more than you!! Look at what you have created- they are gorgeous, clever and very creative.
    Have a go at a mandala, and see if that helps focus you a bit..it’ll be fun, promise!
    Stop freeting and just “do”!
    Kal.xxx

  5. I know the feeling you are having, because I have been going through the same thing. It is a bit discouraging, but I know from past experience that it will all work itself out. Keeping my fingers crossed! I’m pretty sure you can’t go wrong with chocolate.

  6. Oh my! I just love to see what you’ve done with what is just lying around the house! These ornaments are unique, beautiful, their own sort of ‘funky’, and just plain old FUN! You’re very inspiring, Miss Sonja, even when you think you’re having an ‘off’ day. Even the Tasmanian Devil needs to slow down every once in a while and gather back that balance and energy. Simply beautiful, inspiring work!!

  7. I have had the same feeling for weeks and just seem to move from one thing to another,without settling.Perhaps it is just the darker days and the lack of light who knows.But the cones are great and such a good idea.

  8. I am only writing to make you understand of the helpful encounter my friend’s daughter had reading through your web site. She came to understand lots of issues, most notably what it’s like to have an amazing helping heart to make the mediocre ones just know precisely some complex subject matter. You undoubtedly exceeded our desires. Thanks for providing those beneficial, safe, educational and unique guidance on your topic.

Leave a Reply

