A Chicken Soup, A Melon, And A Work In Progress

A chicken soup:

A melon:

And a work in progress:

I started making this piece a long time ago, and I still haven’t finished it. I work on one part of it, then leave it, then after some time I come back to work on another part, and it must be a year of working on and off on this piece. I do like the process though. It’s so nice to have something I can work on whenever I like, without having a deadline.But I don’t know what I’m going to do with it. It’s a handwoven cotton fabric, bleached, painted, hand stitched, embellished with sequins and puff paint (and who knows what else I’m going to add). I called it “The sea world”. I have a lot more to do, but I’m not sure what to do when I finish – should it be a cushion? Maybe I should frame it and hang on the wall? What do you think? Any suggestions? 🙂

6 thoughts on “A Chicken Soup, A Melon, And A Work In Progress

  1. My Dear Friend, Sonja – I cannot tell you how happy I am that a post arrived in my email box stating that you had a a post on your blog – This meant you were feeling better – So happy – Hoping the soup is helping and the fresh fruit – I have to say that “The Sea World” would make a lovely pillow, a beautifully framed piece of art, etc – I am unsure of how large this piece is, but I am thinking 2 different pieces would be delightful … Perhaps a journal cover and a great purse … Or added to a great scarf to wear with jeans … I am sure whatever you choose will be amazing … Looking forward to the update on this piece … Love to see your work in progress … Great style – Great work!

  2. It’s a lovely piece. When it’s finished, how about wrapping it around a large glass jar? This way you’ll have a personalized jar for holding paint brushes/art supplies.

  3. Thank you so much my friends for your ideas! Thank you Kristine, thank you Becky. What a great idea for a personalized jar! I could use it both for a purse and a jar! There’s enough for both! 🙂

  4. It’s nice to have a variety of talents, this way you don’t get board. You are doing some great needle point arts. I have tried the needle point, but I’m not that good with it. I also do a little crochetting. I’m really enjoying the blogging, getting around reading others creative work.

    I invite you to join us and share your blog, we are here helping. As we help others, we are paving our way to success.

    http://facebook.com/pages/bloggersunite/227139297315313

    Thanks, Marie

Leave a Reply

